Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Voters rejected BJP in nagar panchayat polls: NCP

NEW DELHI: Voters have rejected the BJP in the nagar panchayat elections in Maharashtra, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) claimed on Wednesday.

The ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) won 80 per cent seats, claimed NCP spokesperson Nawab Malik, even though the opposition BJP emerged as the single largest party after winning 384 out of 1,649 seats.

The MVA alliance of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress has won 80 per cent of seats in nagar panchayat polls. It underscores that voters have rejected the BJP,” Malik, a state minister, told reporters.

In many local bodies, MVA constituents contested separately, yet they managed to win and keep the BJP out of power. It shows how much people are averse to the BJP, Malik added.

As per the state election commission, the NCP won 344 seats, Congress 316 seats while the Sena won 284 seats.

Malik, meanwhile, praised the success of some young NCP leaders while conceding that some senior leaders could not ensure victories in their constituencies. “The party and these leaders will introspect the outcome,” he said.

Source: Press  Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


BENGALURU: The ruling BJP promised to implement the Uniform Civil Code (UCC) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC) in Karnataka, in its election...


NEW DELHI: Before it explores legal options against the withdrawal of its national party status, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) will file a formal appeal...


MUMBAI: Sharad Pawar on Friday withdrew his decision to step down as NCP president after mounting pressure from shocked party leaders and workers, three...


BENGALURU: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said there is a strong undercurrent in favour of Congress in poll-bound Karnataka but pressed on his...


NEW DELHI: Soon after the Women’s Reservation Bill was tabled by India’s Law Minister Arjun Meghwal in the Lok Sabha, Industrialist and Philanthropist Abhishek...