Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Political parties in Odisha start preparations for Dec 5 Padmapur bypoll

BHUBANESWAR: Political parties have begun preparations for the December 5 by-election in Padmapur assembly constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh district.

Although no nominee has been decided yet, parties have started tasking senior leaders with selection, and names are being discussed for candidature.

The Congress has set up a committee headed by senior leader Kishore Patel for candidate selection, while the BJD is awaiting Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to select a name.

The BJP may field its former MLA Pradip Purohit.

Odisha’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) S K Lohani said the model code of conduct has come into force in the entire district with the announcement of the polls during the day.

The seat was laying vacant after the death of BJD MLA Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha on October 3.

Lohani said the formal notification on the bypoll will be issued on November 10.

As per the schedule, candidates can file their nomination papers till November 17, while the last date for withdrawal of candidatures has been fixed as November 21. The votes will be counted on December 8.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


NEW DELHI: SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, RLD’s Anil Kumar and two BJP leaders were sworn in Tuesday as Yogi Adityanath expanded his council...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: The Congress Tuesday declared a list of 17 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, fielding Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s...