Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Gujarat assembly polls: Day after resigning as Congress MLA, Bhavesh Katara joins ruling BJP

AHMEDABAD: A day after resigning as a Congress MLA in Gujarat, Bhavesh Katara on Thursday joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Katara represented the Jhalod Assembly constituency in Dahod district.

Notably, Katara was with the BJP in the past, but got suspended after he joined the Congress ahead of the 2017 polls, which he eventually won from Jhalod as a Congress candidate. He was one of the youngest legislators of the state at that time.

He is the third Congress MLA to resign in two days after Mohansinh Rathwa and Bhagwan Barad, who have also joined the ruling party.

Katara had submitted his resignation letter to Assembly Speaker Nimaben Acharya on Wednesday night at the latter’s residence. On Thursday, he was formally inducted into the BJP by the party’s state general secretary, Pradipsinh Vaghela, at the party’s state headquarters in Gandhinagar.

Talking to reporters, Katara said he re-joined the BJP without any pre-condition or commitment for a poll ticket.

“I was with the BJP in the past. I am not keen on contesting the polls this time. I am joining BJP again because I was impressed by the work done by Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the tribals,” he said.

Notably, Katara, who had defeated the BJP candidate in 2017, was not in the list of 43 candidates declared by the Congress a few days back. Instead of Katara, the party has chosen Mitesh Garasiya, who won in 2012, as its candidate for Jhalod this time.

The Jhalod seat is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes (ST).

Gujarat elections will be held in two phases on December 1 and December 5, and counting of votes will be held on December 8.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


BENGALURU: The ruling BJP promised to implement the Uniform Civil Code (UCC) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC) in Karnataka, in its election...


NEW DELHI: Before it explores legal options against the withdrawal of its national party status, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) will file a formal appeal...


MUMBAI: Sharad Pawar on Friday withdrew his decision to step down as NCP president after mounting pressure from shocked party leaders and workers, three...


BENGALURU: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said there is a strong undercurrent in favour of Congress in poll-bound Karnataka but pressed on his...


HUBBALLI: Former Karnataka Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar has announced his resignation from the BJP after he was denied a ticket for the May 10...