Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Samajwadi Party won Mainpuri Lok Sabha bypoll due to public sympathy:Om Prakash Rajbhar

BALLIA: Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP) chief Om Prakash Rajbhar on Saturday said the Samajwadi Party won the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat because of public sympathy over the death of Mulayam Singh Yadav.

He also took a swipe at the Akhilesh Yadav-led SP, saying joining hands with Shivpal Singh Yadav’s Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party Lohia (PSPL) would not change its electoral fortunes.

”Mulayam Singh Yadav had contested the last Lok Sabha election in Mainpuri as part of the SP-BSP alliance and won by a margin of about 95,000 votes. Dimple Yadav won the seat by a margin of 2.5 lakh votes, so it is clear that a sympathy wave has contributed to her huge victory,” Rajbhar told news persons on the sidelines of an event here.

”The coming together with PSPL will not benefit the Samajwadi Party in any way (in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls). Akhilesh Yadav and Shivpal Singh Yadav had contested the assembly polls earlier this year together. Both the leaders have already been together,” he further said.

On Thursday, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav presented his party’s flag to PSPL founder and his uncle Shivpal Singh Yadav in Saifai. He declared that ”respected chachaji (Shivpal Singh Yadav) and his party (PSPL) have come together with the SP and now, all will work together under one flag”.

Dimple Yadav won the bypoll to the Mainpuri parliamentary seat, defeating her nearest rival BJP candidate Raghuraj Singh Shakya by a margin of over 2,88,461 votes.

Rajbhar said the Muslim community in Mainpuri supported the SP. ”But in the Rampur, the Yadavs voted in favour of the BJP. Because of this, a non-Muslim MLA has been elected for the first time in Rampur,” he claimed.

The BJP won the Rampur Sadar assembly seat for the first time as its candidate Akash Saxena defeated his nearest SP rival Asim Raja by a margin of 33,702 votes.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


NEW DELHI: SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, RLD’s Anil Kumar and two BJP leaders were sworn in Tuesday as Yogi Adityanath expanded his council...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: The Congress Tuesday declared a list of 17 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, fielding Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s...