Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror

Rajya Sabha

AAP, BRS, Shiv Sena-UBT stage walkout from Rajya Sabha after chair rejects their adjournment notices

NEW DELHI: Members of the Aam Aadmi Party, Shiv Sena Thackeray faction and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) on Wednesday staged a walkout from the Rajya Sabha after their adjournment notices were disallowed by the chair.

Soon after laying of papers, Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar said he has received four notices under Rule 267 from BRS member K Keshava Rao, AAP member Sanjay Singh and Shiv Sena members Sanjay Raut and Priyanka Chaturvedi and disallowed the same.

Rao stood up and raised objection to the Rajya Sabha chairman’s remarks on Tuesday on their boycott of the House.

Sanjay Singh also rose to seek a discussion on the Adani issue but was not allowed by the chair as their notices were disallowed.

Soon, the BRS, Sena and AAP members staged a walkout from the House.

The House started the discussion on the motion of thanks to the president’s address as there was no Zero Hour and Question Hour. The discussion on the motion of thanks would continue without lunch break.

”I have received four notices under Rule 267 from Sanjay Raut, K Keshava Rao, Sanjay Singh, Priyanka Chaturvedi. I reiterate my stand. I have carefully gone through them. I do not find the notices in order. I am constrained not to allow them,” the chairman said.

On BRS member Rao’s anguish over the chairman’s remarks made on Tuesday, he said, ”The kind of aggressive body language you are reflecting is most unfortunate. You have perhaps not had the occasion to go through what I had said yesterday with full sense of sublimity, sobriety and seriousness.”

Asking him to take his seat, he said, ”This is not the way we conduct this House. What I said is on record, you can take recourse to rules. This is not the way to do it. I have conveyed my sentiments and these are the sentiments of millions of people.” Dhankhar said for the first time in this country, a history of the ”wrong type” has been created by engaging in a proclaimed boycott of the President.

”I would urge the members, we are sending a very dangerous signal to people. Their anger is beyond tolerance. Every time in the morning they see this spectacle of the House being plunged into disorder as part of strategy,” the chairman said. AAP, BRS members created uproar by raising slogans of ”PM sadan mein aao. jawaab do. JPC se jaanch karao (PM should come to the House and answer and JPC probe should be ordered)” and later staged a walkout. They later held a demonstration in front of the Gandhi statue in Parliament premises.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI:A man disguised as an advocate was allegedly caught by the police security detail of the main witness in the 1984 Anti Sikh...


BARAMULLA: India’s Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday ruled out holding dialogue with Pakistan and asserted that the Modi government will wipe out terrorism...


SRINAGAR: National Conference (NC) president Farooq Abdullah on Monday urged the natives of Jammu and Kashmir to register themselves in the electoral rolls so...


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


NEW DELHI: AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday evening declared his party’s candidates for three seats for the coming Assembly elections in Gujarat. Elections...