Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Now home to six governors, Purvanchal continues to hold sway in BJP

NEW DELHI: Purvanchal continues to play a key role in the ruling BJP’s scheme of things as the region is now home to six governors, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and is also represented by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the Lok Sabha.

The Centre recently appointed former Union minister and Gorakhpur Cantonment ex-MLA Shiv Pratap Shukla and Laxman Acharya, a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, as governors of Himachal Pradesh and Sikkim, respectively. Acharya hails from Varanasi, the Prime Minister’s Lok Sabha constituency.

Among the other governors from this Bhojpuri-speaking region in eastern Uttar Pradesh are Jammu and Kashmir Lt Governor Manoj Sinha, a former Union minister who represented Ghazipur as an MP. Former Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who represented the Deoria Lok Sabha seat in Parliament, is now the governor of Rajasthan.

Meghalaya Governor Phagu Chauhan also hails from the region. Chauhan has represented the Ghosi seat six times in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly. He hails from the economically backward (EBC) Nonia caste.

Ladakh Lt Governor Brigadier (Retd) BD Mishra is a native of Purvanchal’s Bhadohi.

Besides the six governors, the Prime Minister and the state’s chief minister, several ministers in the Centre and the Uttar Pradesh government also represent this region.

Union ministers Mahendra Nath Pandey, Pankaj Choudhary and Apna Dal (S) Anupriya Patel are natives of Purvanchal.

Seen as a swing region, Purvanchal has always been of deep interest to political observers. It voted for the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party in 2007 and Akhilesh Yadav and the Samajwadi Party in 2012. It has by and large been with the BJP since the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI:A man disguised as an advocate was allegedly caught by the police security detail of the main witness in the 1984 Anti Sikh...


BARAMULLA: India’s Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday ruled out holding dialogue with Pakistan and asserted that the Modi government will wipe out terrorism...


SRINAGAR: National Conference (NC) president Farooq Abdullah on Monday urged the natives of Jammu and Kashmir to register themselves in the electoral rolls so...


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


NEW DELHI: AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday evening declared his party’s candidates for three seats for the coming Assembly elections in Gujarat. Elections...