Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Congress to attend June 12 meeting of opposition parties in Patna: Jairam Ramesh

NEW DELHI: The Congress on Thursday said it will participate in the June 12 meeting of opposition parties in Patna but is yet to decide on who will attend the meeting.Bihar Chief Minister and JDU leader Nitish Kumar has convened the meeting.

”The Congress will surely participate in the June 12 meeting of opposition leaders in Patna. However, who will participate is not decided. The Congress party will soon decide who will attend the meeting,” AICC general secretary communications Jairam Ramesh told reporters here.

”But, the Congress is surely attending that opposition meeting,” he asserted.

Rahul Gandhi is currently on a visit to the US and Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge is yet to decide on whether he would represent the party at the Patna meeting.

The Congress has been claiming primacy in the opposition space, being the largest party which has a base in every state across India. Congress leaders have claimed that only their party can be the focal point of any joint opposition forum.

The June 12 meeting was fixed by Kumar in consultation with leaders of various parties and several chief ministers of opposition-ruled states. Senior leaders of opposition parties are expected to attend the meeting.

The Congress has been saying that this is a preliminary meeting and a part of the series of meetings planned to forge opposition unity.

Kumar met several opposition leaders last month in his bid to bring them together on one common platform to fight the BJP unitedly. He had met Kharge and Rahul Gandhi last month and prior to that he had a meeting with Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...


NEW DELHI: SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, RLD’s Anil Kumar and two BJP leaders were sworn in Tuesday as Yogi Adityanath expanded his council...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: The Congress Tuesday declared a list of 17 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, fielding Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s...