Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


BSP spent over Rs 1 crore in Himachal polls, more than Rs 78 lakh in Gujarat

NEW DELHI: The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party spent over Rs 1 crore in electioneering in the Himachal Pradesh assembly polls and over Rs 78 lakh for campaigning in Gujarat.

In both elections held late last year, the party could not win any seat. While Congress emerged as a winner in Himachal Pradesh, BJP retained power in Gujarat.

The BSP managed a vote share of 0.35 per cent in Himachal Pradesh and 0.50 per cent in Gujarat.

According to the election expenditure reports on the two states submitted by the party to the Election Commission last month, it spent Rs 1,03,90,901 for campaigning in the hill state.

In Himachal Pradesh, out of the over Rs 1 crore spent overall on campaigning, the party spent nearly Rs 47 lakh on the travel of Mayawati for a public meeting in Baddi Tehsil on November 6, 2022. In Gujarat, the BSP, which is a recognised national party, spent Rs 78,10,829 for campaigning.

The party’s election expenditure reports were put in the public domain by the Election Commission on Tuesday.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...