Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror

Rajya Sabha

YSR Congress announces candidates for Rajya Sabha polls in Andhra Pradesh

AMARAVATI: The ruling YSR Congress on Tuesday announced four candidates, including two from neighbouring Telangana, for as many Rajya Sabha seats from Andhra Pradesh, biennial election for which is slated for June 10.

YSRC president and Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy’s lawyer S Niranjan Reddy and BC Welfare Association president R Krishnaiah, both hailing from Telangana, have been chosen for Rajya Sabha seats ignoring the local party leaders from the state.

While incumbent MP V Vijayasai Reddy, who is due to retire upon completion of his first term next month, has been re-nominated, former TDP MLA Beeda Masthan Rao has also been chosen for the fourth seat.

Nomination process for the four Rajya Sabha seats from AP will begin on May 24 with the issue of notification and the last date for filing papers is May 31.

Election, if required, will be held on June 10.

Given its strength of 151 MLAs, the YSRC is in a comfortable position to bag all four seats. Its strength in the Council of States will swell to 9 (out of 11) after the biennial election.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...