Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


DMK to launch year-long celebrations of late Karunanidhi’s birth centenary in June

NEW DELHI: Various national leaders will descend on Tamil Nadu’s Tiruvarur on June 3 when the DMK will launch its year-long celebrations of the birth centenary of late party president and former Chief Minister M Karunanidhi. A meeting of the DMK’s district secretaries, held under party president and TN chief minister M K Stalin here on Tuesday resolved to celebrate the late patriarch’s birth centenary in a grand manner.

According to a party release, a ”Kalaignar Kottam” complex, a museum and a marriage hall will be inaugurated by ”national leaders” at Tiruvarur, Karunanidhi’s native district on June 3, when the year-long centenary celebrations will start. On that day, ”all-India leaders will also speak” at a public meeting, it said. A ‘Kottam’ is Tamil refers to a temple-like structure built in memory of a revered person.

The district secretaries meeting resolved it was ”befitting” that the late party chief’s centenary celebrations came at a time when the party’s inclusive ”Dravidian model of governance” had attracted national attention. Karunanidhi was instrumental in ensuring, among others, safeguarding Tamil, growth of Tamil Nadu, Dravidian self-respect, federalism and brotherhood, the meeting resolved. The district secretaries also decided to launch a massive membership drive on June 3 to enroll one crore individuals into the party, to the existing similar number.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


BENGALURU: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said there is a strong undercurrent in favour of Congress in poll-bound Karnataka but pressed on his...


AHMEDABAD: A moderate voter turnout of 60.23 per cent was recorded in the first phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections covering 89 seats across...


MUZAFFARNAGAR: Samajwadi Party (SP) ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) on Thursday won the Khatauli bypoll in Uttar Pradesh, with its candidate Madan Bhaiya defeating...


NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Friday finalised six names as its candidates for various MCD posts, including that of mayor and...