Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Gujarat Cabinet portfolio distribution: Bhupendra Patel keeps Home, Kanubhai Desai gets Finance

NEW DELHI: Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel kept the portfolio of the Home Ministry along with several other departments while Kanu Desai has been made the Finance Minister in the newly formed cabinet of Thursday.

A total of 24 ministers took oath on Thursday as part of the Gujarat Cabinet’s swearing-in ceremony. Gujarat Governor Acharya Devvrat administered the oath to the newly inducted ministers at Raj Bhawan in Gandhinagar.

Rajendra Trivedi, the former Speaker of State Assembly, was also inducted as minister in the Cabinet. Harsh Sanghvi, Jagdish Panchal, Brijesh Merja, Jitu Choudhary, Manisha Vakil, Kanubhai Desai, Kiritsinh Rana, Naresh Patel, Pradip Parmar, Arjunsinh Chauhan, Jitu Vaghani, Rushikesh Patel, Purnesh Modi, Raghavji Patel, Mukesh Patel, Nimisha Suthar, Arvind Raiyani, Kuber Dindor, Kirtisinh Vaghela, Ganjedra Parmar, Raghvbhai Makwana, Vinod Moradia, Devabhai Malam have been sworn-in as the ministers in Gujarat’s cabinet.

Besides Home, Bhupendra Patel held the portfolios of Administrative Reforms and Planning, Housing and Police Housing, Information and Broadcasting, Capital Planning, Urban Development and Urban Housing, Industry, Mines and Minerals, Narmada, Ports and other departments that are not allotted to any Cabinet Minister. Kanubhai Desai has been given the responsibility of the Minister of Finance, Energy and Petrochemicals. Rajendra Trivedi has been allotted the Department of Revenue, Disaster Management, Law and Justice, and Statutory and Parliamentary Affairs.

Jitu Waghani will take over as the Education Minister while Rushikesh Patel has been assigned the portfolio of Health and Family Welfare, Medical Education and Water Resources and Water Supply. Purnesh Modi has been made the Minister for Roads and Transport while Raghavji Patel will take charge as the Minister of Agriculture.

Kirit Singh Rana was appointed as Forest and Environment Minister while Naresh Patel has been assigned the portfolio of Tribal Development, Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection. Pradipsinh Parmar will take charge of the Department of Social Justice and Empowerment. Arjun Singh Chauhan will take over as Rural Development Minister, Harsh Sanghvi as Sports Ministry (Independent Charge) and Manishaben Vakil as Women and Child Welfare minister.

Jagdish Vishwakarma, Brijesh Merja, Jitu Chaudhary and Manishaben Vakil have also made ministers with Independent Charge. Mukesh Patel, Nimishaben Suthar, Arvind Raiani, Kuber Dindor, Kirtisinh Vaghela, Gajendrasinh Parmar, RC Makwana, Vinod Mordiya and Deva Malam have made Minister of State.

Gujarat Cabinet Reshuffle: Check full list of ministers and their portfolios
Bhupendra Patel – Chief Minister, Home, Urban Development, General Administration, Information and Broadcast, Industries, Mines and Minerals, Capital Projects, Narmada and ports among others

Rajendra Trivedi – Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs, Revenue, Law and Justice

Jitendra Vaghani- Education

Rishikesh Patel – Health and family welfare, medical education, water resources and water supply

Purneshkumar Ishwarlal Modi – Roads and building, transport, civil aviation, tourism and pilgrimage development

Raghavji Patel – Agriculture and animal husbandry

Arjunsinh Chauhan – Rural development and rural housing

Kanubhai Mohanlal Desai – Finance, Energy and Petrochemicals

Kiritsinh Rana – Environment, climate change, and printing and stationery departments

Naresh Patel – Tribal Development and food and civil supply

Pradip Parmar – Social justice and empowerment

Gujarat: Ministers of State
Harsh Sanghavi – MoS Home, disaster management and police housing, independent charge as MoS of sports, youth and cultural activities, NRI, excise and prohibition, border security and prisons

Jagdish Ishwarbhai – Cottage industries, cooperation, salt industry and protocol. he will also handle industries, forest and environment, climate change and printing and stationery

Brijesh Merja – Independent charge- Labour and Employment, Panchayats, rural development and rural housing

Jitu Chaudhary – Fisheries (independent charge), Narmada, water resources and water supply

Manisha Vakil – Independent charge- women and child development, social justice and empowerment

Mukesh Patel – Agriculture and energy and petrochemicals

Nimishaben Suthar – Tribal development, health and family welfare and medical education

Arvindbhai Gordhanbhai Raiyani – Transport, Civil aviation, tourism and pilgrimage development

Kuber Dindor – Higher and technical education, legislative and parliamentary affairs

Kirti Singh Vaghela – Primary, secondary and adult education

Gajenddra Singh Parmar – Food and civil supply

Raghavbhai Makwana – Social justice and empowerment

Vinod Moradiya – Urban development and urban housing

Devabhai Malav – Animal husbandry

Nimaben Bhaveshbhai Acharya has been made Gujarat Assembly Speaker after Rajendra Trivedi resigned from the post and was inducted into the new cabinet.

Source: ANI


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: As six top administrative positions are set to fall vacant with the incumbents retiring from service at the month end while a...


By Anil Sharma Seeing senior Congress leader, AICC general secretary and in charge of Rajasthan Ajay Maken working tirelessly in the sweltering heat of...


NEW DELHI: Describing the Covid situation in the country as grave, Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has written to President...


NEW DELHI: With the counting of votes underway, the Election Commission Sunday said it has taken a stern view of reports of congregation of...


LUCKNOW: Gorakhpur MLA Dr Radha Mohan Das Agrawal made the remarks after SII on Wednesday announced a price of Rs 600 per dose for...

Political Mirror News