Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


BJP ally IPFT lawmaker resigns from Tripura Assembly

AGARTALA: IPFT lawmaker Dhananjoy Tripura resigned from the Tripura Assembly on Friday, months before the state poll citing ‘personal reasons’. IPFT is an ally of the ruling NDA in the north eastern state, where poll is due by March next year. Speaker Ratan Chakraborty said Tripura accompanied by Tipra Motha chief Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma met him and submitted the resignation letter citing ”personal reasons”.

“Since he (Tripura) quit as per the law and procedure, I accepted his resignation letter”, Chakraborty said.

Tripura represents Raima Valley in Dhalai district.

The ruling NDA still has absolute majority in the 60-member state Assembly with 35 MLAs from BJP and six from the IPFT.

IPFT’s strength has reduced from eight to six after Tripura’s resignation. Earlier, party legislator Brishaketu Debbarma was declared disqualified by the speaker and had joined Tipra Motha, a regional political force.

Another IPFT MLA Mevar Kumar Jamatia, who was denied cabinet berth in the Manik Saha ministry, was seen meeting Pradyot Kishore Debbarma at the Royal Palace here on Friday. Debbarma is the scion of the erstwhile royal family.

BJP MLA Burbu Mohan Tripura had quit the party and exited the Assembly in September vowing to work for Tipra Motha. The CPI(M) has 15 MLAs and the Congress one in the Tripura Assembly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...