Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Bhajan Lal family retains Adampur bastion as BJP’s Bhavya Bishnoi wins bypoll

HISAR: BJP candidate and former chief minister Bhajan Lal’s grandson Bhavya Bishnoi on Sunday defeated his nearest rival and Congress nominee Jai Prakash in the Adampur assembly seat by-election, retaining the family bastion.

The resignation of Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi necessitated the by-election after he left the Congress and joined the BJP. In a direct electoral contest between the Congress and the BJP, Bhavya defeated Prakash by a margin of 15,740 votes.

The BJP candidate polled 67,492 votes while the Congress candidate secured 51,752 votes, according to the Election Commission’s Voter Helpline app.

INLD candidate Kurda Ram Nambardar got 5,248 votes, while AAP’s Satender Singh secured 3,420 votes. Both lost their deposits as they failed to get one-sixth of the votes polled.

Kuldeep Bishnoi thanked voters of the Adampur assembly segment. “It is a victory of (PM) Narendra Modi ji’s policies. It is a victory of Manohar Lal Khattar’s working style, it is a victory of the 54-year-long trust of the Bhajan Lal family in Adampur,” said Bishnoi.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar also expressed gratitude towards the people of Adampur area for ensuring a ‘bhavya’ (grand) victory.

“This is the victory of Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi ji’s policies, public trust and hard work of all workers,” said Khattar in his tweet.

The bypolls in the assembly segment in Hisar on November 3 saw a turnout of 76.45 percent.

The Adampur seat has been held by Bhajan Lal’s family since 1968, with the late leader representing it on nine occasions, his wife Jasma Devi once and Kuldeep on four occasions.

Kuldeep Bishnoi had defeated the late Sonali Phogat, who had contested on a BJP ticket from Adampur in the 2019 state assembly elections.

Former Union minister Jai Prakash, a three-time MP from Hisar and two-time MLA was fielded by the Congress.

The INLD had nominated Congress rebel Kurda Ram Nambardar while the AAP had nominated Satender Singh, who switched over from the BJP.

Twenty-two candidates, all men, were in the fray.

The BJP and JJP leaders had targeted the Congress dubbing it a sinking ship and also took potshots at the grand old party over “factionalism” in the state unit.

Source: Press TRust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...