Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Akhilesh Prasad Singh appointed Bihar Congress president

NEW DELHI: Rajya Sabha MP Akhilesh Prasad Singh was on Monday appointed president of the Bihar Congress Committee with immediate effect.

Singh has been a part of the G23 grouping which has been critical of the party leadership in the past.

“The Congress president has appointed Dr Akhilesh Prasad Singh, MP, as the president of Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee with immediate effect,” an official communication from the party said.

“The party appreciates the contribution of the outgoing Pradesh Congress Committee president Madan Mohan Jha,” the order added.

Between the years 2000 and 2004, Singh served as a member of the Arwal Legislative Assembly. He was elected to the 14th Lok Sabha in 2004 as a Rashtriya Janata Dal representative for Motihari. Singh lost his 2009 Purvi Champaran and 2014 Muzaffarpur elections as an Indian National Congress candidate. In 2015, Sudama Prasad defeated Singh in the Bihar Legislative Assembly election for the Tarari constituency, and Singh lost his seat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


BENGALURU: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said there is a strong undercurrent in favour of Congress in poll-bound Karnataka but pressed on his...


HUBBALLI: Former Karnataka Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar has announced his resignation from the BJP after he was denied a ticket for the May 10...


NEW DELHI: Before it explores legal options against the withdrawal of its national party status, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) will file a formal appeal...


BENGALURU: The ruling BJP promised to implement the Uniform Civil Code (UCC) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC) in Karnataka, in its election...