Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


All 5 newly-elected Gujarat AAP MLAs meet Arvind Kejriwal

NEW DELHI: All five newly-elected AAP MLAs from Gujarat called on party’s national convenor and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal at his residence here on Wednesday. Party’s MLA Bhupat Bhayani, who had initially hinted that he may go with the BJP to ”resolve several key issues” of his constituency but later set aside all speculations, saying he was not unhappy with AAP, was also present during the meeting.

Bhayani was accompanied by Chaitarbhai Vasava, Hemantbhai Hardasbhai, Sudhir Baghani and Makwana Naranbhai. Aam Aadmi Party’s Gujarat unit president Gopal Italia, state general secretary Manoj Sorathia and Isudan Gadhvi, the party’s chief ministerial face, and other leaders accompanied the newly elected legislators to Kejriwal’s residence.

”It was a courtesy call with the AAP’s national convenor,” Italia told PTI. AAP sources said Kejriwal held a meeting with his party’s Gujarat unit leaders, including the five MLAs, and discussed the strategy to further expand the party’s base in the BJP-ruled state.

AAP won five seats in the recently concluded Gujarat Assembly polls and secured about 13 per cent vote share. AAP’s poll strategist Sandeep Pathak, who is also a Rajya Sabha member, was also present at the meeting, sources added.

”At the meeting, the party’s future strategy for Gujarat was discussed,” another source told PTI, adding that ”the meeting also deliberated on the AAP’s ”national expansion plan and the role it would play in the future elections.” Pathak, who was AAP’s elections in-charge for Gujarat, was appointed as the party’s national secretary (organisation) on Tuesday to drive its expansion plan with an eye on the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Source: Press Trst of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI:A man disguised as an advocate was allegedly caught by the police security detail of the main witness in the 1984 Anti Sikh...


BARAMULLA: India’s Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday ruled out holding dialogue with Pakistan and asserted that the Modi government will wipe out terrorism...


SRINAGAR: National Conference (NC) president Farooq Abdullah on Monday urged the natives of Jammu and Kashmir to register themselves in the electoral rolls so...


NEW DELHI: Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioner (EC) Anup Chandra Pandey today launched a yearlong Voter Awareness Program –...


RANCHI:Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren on Monday lashed out at the BJP accusing it of trying to destabilise his democratically elected government, saying the...