Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

Mission 2024 Lok Sabha polls: BJP chief JP Nadda to address two rallies in Maharashtra on Monday

CHANDRAPUR: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president JP Nadda will on Monday launch a drive from Chandrapur as part of the party’s plan to win 18 ”difficult” seats from Maharashtra in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, a BJP leader said on Sunday.

Nadda will address rallies at Chandrapur in east Maharashtra and Aurangabad in the Marathwada region. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP failed to retain the Chandrapur constituency which was won by Congress, the only seat the Grand Old Party currently holds in Maharashtra which sends 48 MPs to Lok Sabha.

The BJP had revised its national target of the ”difficult” LS seats it is eying to win in the 2024 polls to 160 from 144. In Maharashtra, the saffron party has identified 18 ”difficult” constituencies.

”JP Nadda will launch the drive from Chandrapur district on January 2 with a mega Vijay Sankalp rally at Chandrapur,” said Devrao Bhongle, district BJP president. He said Nadda will offer prayers at the famous temple of goddess Mahakali in Chandrapur city. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 23 of the 25 seats (out of the total 48) it contested in Maharashtra, while the party’s then ally Shiv Sena bagged 18.

“Nadda will address his first rally in Chandrapur on Monday followed by an organisational meeting. His second rally will take place in Sambhaji Nagar (formerly Aurangabad) in the Marathwada region,” said Sanjay alias Bala Bhegade, coordinator for Lok Sabha meetings of BJP.

For a long time, Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency was represented by Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena. In 2019, the Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM wrested the Aurangabad seat from Shiv Sena. After the split in Shiv Sena last June, the BJP and ‘Balasahebanachi Shiv Sena’ led by Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde are eyeing this constituency.

Nadda will be accompanied by Union ministers from Maharashtra Nitin Gadkari and Raosaheb Danve, Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, and state BJP president Chandrashekhar Bawankule among others.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


BENGALURU: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said there is a strong undercurrent in favour of Congress in poll-bound Karnataka but pressed on his...


NEW DELHI: Before it explores legal options against the withdrawal of its national party status, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) will file a formal appeal...


HUBBALLI: Former Karnataka Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar has announced his resignation from the BJP after he was denied a ticket for the May 10...


BENGALURU: The ruling BJP promised to implement the Uniform Civil Code (UCC) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC) in Karnataka, in its election...