Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Gayathri Raghuram resigns from BJP

Gayathri Raghuram, DMK, Tamil Nadu, BJP

NEW DELHI: Actor-turned-politician Gayathri Raghuram, who was suspended from the BJP, has quit the primary membership of the party.

In a series of tweets on Tuesday, she said: “I have taken the decision with a heavy heart to resign from TNBJP for giving an opportunity for an enquiry, equal rights and respect for women. Under Annamalai’s leadership, women are not safe. I feel better to be trolled as an outsider.

“I strongly believe in Hindu Dharma in my heart and conscience. I don’t need to search for it in a political party. I rather go to a temple in search of God and Dharma. God is everywhere. God is with me. Justice delayed is justice denied.”

President of the BJP’s Tamil Nadu unit, K. Annamalai had suspended Raghuram from all party positions for a period of six months from November 2022.

This was following an open social media spat she had with the then OBC Morcha state leader, Tiruchi Suriya.

Suriya was reprimanded by the party leadership after his chats with party minority Morcha leader Daisy Sarin in which he was verbally abusing her was leaked to the media.

Raghuram, who was the state president of the BJP Other State and Overseas Tamil Development Wing, and had joined issue with Suriya.

Interestingly, Suriya who is the son of DMK leader Tiruchi Shiva, had also resigned from the party and lashed out against the party-state organising secretary, Keshava Vinayagam.

With the resignation of the two prominent young leaders, the Tamil Nadu BJP is in a crisis, and criticism has mounted against the police-type functioning of Annamalai, who was an IPS officer before becoming a politician.

Source: IANS

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...