Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Ten aldermen nominated to MCD

NEW DELHI: Ten aldermen have been nominated to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi ahead of Friday’s mayoral poll, an official notification said.

These members included Vinod Kumar (village Daryapur Kalan), Laxman Arya (DDA Flats, Narela), Mukesh Mann (Nehru Enclave, Alipur) Mahesh Kumar Tomar (Kalu Colony, Buddha Vihar), Raj Kumar Bhatia (Panchvati Aadarsh Nagar), Mohan Goel (Dussehra Ground, Mukherjee Nagar), Sanjay Tyagi (Burari Village), Rajpal Rana (Mukhmelpur), Kamaljit Singh (East of Kailash), and Rohtash Kumar (Tughlaqabad Village).

Aldermen refers to people who are experts in their fields. However, they do not have voting rights in the mayoral election.

The first municipal House after the high-stakes civic polls on December 4 is scheduled to take place on Friday when all newly elected councillors will take their oaths and the mayor and the deputy mayor elected.

On Tuesday, the Delhi government issued a notification that 10 members had been nominated by Lt Governor VK Saxena.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-clause (i) of clause (b) of sub-section (3) of section 3 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957 (66 of 1957), the Lt. Governor of the National Capital Territory of Delhi hereby nominates the following persons to be represented in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi for the period 2022-2027,” the notification read.

This is the first time since 2012 that a unified municipal corporation will come into being.

The erstwhile unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi, set up in 1958, was trifurcated in 2012 before being reunified last May.

A fresh delimitation exercise was conducted, following which polls were held in December.

The AAP bagged 134 seats to emerge victorious, ending the BJP’s 15-year rule in the civic body. The BJP won 104 wards to finish, while the Congress won nine seats in the 250-member House, which will convene for the first time since the December elections on Friday.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI:A man disguised as an advocate was allegedly caught by the police security detail of the main witness in the 1984 Anti Sikh...


BARAMULLA: India’s Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday ruled out holding dialogue with Pakistan and asserted that the Modi government will wipe out terrorism...


SRINAGAR: National Conference (NC) president Farooq Abdullah on Monday urged the natives of Jammu and Kashmir to register themselves in the electoral rolls so...


NEW DELHI: Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioner (EC) Anup Chandra Pandey today launched a yearlong Voter Awareness Program –...


RANCHI:Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren on Monday lashed out at the BJP accusing it of trying to destabilise his democratically elected government, saying the...