Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Pramod Tiwari is deputy leader of Congress in Rajya Sabha, Rajani Patil made whip

RANCHI: The Congress on Saturday appointed Pramod Tiwari as its deputy leader in the Rajya Sabha and Rajani Patil as a whip. The appointments were made to fill the vacancies following the retirement of Anand Sharma and the demise of Rajeev Satav.

Congress Parliamentary Party chairperson Sonia Gandhi has approved the appointments of Tiwari as deputy leader and Patil as whip of the party in the Rajya Sabha, AICC general secretary in-charge communications Jairam Ramesh said on Twitter.

A letter regarding these appointments has been sent to the Rajya Sabha chairman.

While Tiwari is a three-time Rajya Sabha MP and has been a former cabinet minister in the Uttar Pradesh government, Patil is a two-time MP in Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra.

Patil is currently suspended from the Upper House for the entire Budget Session of Parliament for unruly behaviour.

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge is the leader of the party in the Rajya Sabha and Ramesh is its chief whip.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI:A man disguised as an advocate was allegedly caught by the police security detail of the main witness in the 1984 Anti Sikh...


BARAMULLA: India’s Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday ruled out holding dialogue with Pakistan and asserted that the Modi government will wipe out terrorism...


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


NEW DELHI: AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday evening declared his party’s candidates for three seats for the coming Assembly elections in Gujarat. Elections...


NEW DELHI: The RJD on Sunday said the Opposition has started to come together in several parts of the country and the BJP’s journey...