Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Samajwadi Party panel urges Uttar Pradesh chief electoral officer for action on suggestions on polling booths for 2024 Lok Sabha polls

NEW DELHI: Samajwadi Party (SP) delegation met with the Uttar Pradesh chief electoral officer Monday, demanding positive action on suggestions given by party MPs, MLAs, district presidents and other office bearers for change and amendment in polling booths for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

The SP’s national spokesperson Rajendra Chowdhary said on the instructions of the party’s national president Akhilesh Yadav, the delegation handed over a memorandum to the CEO regarding their demands.

The memorandum said the SP’s district presidents, MPs and MLAs have given suggestions for improvement in booths in various districts of the state and raised a couple of objections as well.

On their requests, changes and amendments should be made in the booths so that the upcoming Lok Sabha elections can be conducted in a free, fair and fear-free manner, Chowdhary said.

”Many booths in the assembly constituencies in the state have been made contrary to the instructions of the Election Commission. Especially the polling booths having traditional voters of the SP have been moved three to six kilometres away at the behest of the ruling party,” it said.

Apart from this, polling stations have been set up in densely populated areas and across railway lines, big canals and big drains, the memorandum said, adding that there will be difficulty for people in reaching such centres.

Due to this, the voting percentage will also fall and the election result affected, it said.

The memorandum was submitted by SP leaders K K Srivastava, Harishchandra Yadav and Radheshyam Singh to the chief electoral officer.


Source: Press Trust of India


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


NEW DELHI: SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, RLD’s Anil Kumar and two BJP leaders were sworn in Tuesday as Yogi Adityanath expanded his council...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: The Congress Tuesday declared a list of 17 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, fielding Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s...