Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Madhya Pradesh Governor invites BJP legislature party leader Mohan Yadav to form government in state

BHOPAL: Madhya Pradesh Governor Mangubhai Patel on Monday invited BJP legislature party leader Mohan Yadav to form a government in the state and handed over a letter about his appointment as the next chief minister, an official said.

Soon after his election as the leader of the BJP legislature party, Yadav (58), a three-time MLA from Ujjain South, accompanied by senior leaders, went to the Raj Bhavan here to stake a claim to form the next government.

The Governor, after accepting the resignation of outgoing Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, handed over a letter to Yadav appointing him as the new CM, the official said.

Patel also invited Yadav, a prominent OBC leader of the BJP, to form his council of ministers, he added.

However, it was not immediately known when the swearing-in ceremony of the new CM and his council of ministers will take place.

Earlier in the day, the BJP legislature party elected Yadav, a member of the Chouhan cabinet, as its leader in the presence of central observers, paving the way for him to take over as the next chief minister.

The BJP retained power in MP in the November 17 assembly polls by winning 163 seats in the 230-member assembly, while the Congress finished a distant second with 66.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: Soon after the Women’s Reservation Bill was tabled by India’s Law Minister Arjun Meghwal in the Lok Sabha, Industrialist and Philanthropist Abhishek...


NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party which is eyeing a comeback in Chhattisgarh in the coming assembly elections on Thursday released its first list...


NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday said the era of ”corruption and scams” prevailed before 2014 when the rights of the poor...


CHANDIGARH: Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) president Sukhbir Singh Badal on Saturday announced that his party will contest the Haryana Sikh Gurdwara Prabandhak Committee (HSGMC)...


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...