Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Prakash Ambedkar’s Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi invited for Maha Vikas Aghadi meet in Mumbai on January 30: Sanjay Raut

PUNE: Amid a buzz over seat-sharing ahead of the Lok Sabha and Maharashtra assembly polls due this year, Shiv Sena (UBT) MP Sanjay Raut said the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi led by Prakash Ambedkar has been invited for a meeting of MVA constituents in Mumbai on Tuesday.

Earlier this month, Ambedkar appealed to the Shiv Sena (UBT) to ally with the VBA for the Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra if the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) members fail to finalise a seat-sharing formula.

Ambedkar then said the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena (UBT) and the VBA can contest 24 seats each (out of the total 48 Lok Sabha seats in the state) in the upcoming general polls.

NCP president Sharad Pawar earlier this month said the MVA, comprising the Shiv Sena (UBT), NCP and Congress, is talking to the Left parties and Prakash Ambedkar’s VBA to stitch up an alliance for the upcoming polls.

Asked about VBA’s alliance with the Maha Vikas Aghadi, Raut on Monday said the MVA constituents will have a final meeting in Mumbai on Tuesday and all other parties have been invited. ”Ambedkar’s VBA has been cordially invited to the meeting, and they have accepted the invitation,” he said.

”Ambedkar’s stand is very clear. He has already announced his stand against the current dictatorial policies in the country and the constant insult of the Constitution, and the MVA also shares the same stand,” Raut said. So, the VBA will not take any stand which will help the BJP directly or indirectly, he claimed. The MVA on January 25 invited the Prakash Ambedkar-led outfit to be a part of the opposition alliance in Maharashtra and join it for a discussion on seat-sharing.

A letter signed by Maharashtra Congress chief Nana Patole, Jayant Patil of the NCP’s Sharad Pawar faction and Shiv Sena (UBT) MP Sanjay Raut was sent to Ambedkar, requesting him to depute senior leaders from the VBA to join the seat-sharing talks.


Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


NEW DELHI: SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, RLD’s Anil Kumar and two BJP leaders were sworn in Tuesday as Yogi Adityanath expanded his council...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: The Congress Tuesday declared a list of 17 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, fielding Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s...