Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

Lok Sabha polls: DMK begins seat allotment to allies

CHENNAI: The Tamil Nadu’s ruling DMK, a key constituent of the opposition INDIA bloc, on Saturday allotted one Lok Sabha (LS) constituency each to two of its allies, the IUML and KMDK.

Weeks after initiating seat sharing talks with allies for the April-May Lok Sabha polls, the seat sharing agreement was signed by DMK President and Chief Minister M K Stalin and leaders of alliance parties at the party headquarters ‘Anna Arivalayam,’ here.

The main opposition AIADMK and the BJP are yet to announce their allies.

While the DMK’s long time ally, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) was allotted the Ramanathapuram segment in southern Tamil Nadu, the Dravidian party earmarked Namakkal constituency for the west-Tamil Nadu based partner Kongunadu Makkal Desiya Katchi (KMDK).

K M Kader Mohideen, national president of the IUML said his party’s incumbent MP from Ramanathapuram, Navas Kani, will be renominated to contest the LS polls.

Mohideen told reporters that his party requested a Rajya Sabha seat from the DMK during seat sharing talks. The Dravidian party, however, said the seat sharing exercise was confined to the Lok Sabha polls and questions related to RS elections may be taken up later, at the appropriate time.

Both IUML and KMDK have been allotted the same seats they were given in the 2019 LS polls.

KMDK general secretary E R Eswaran said the nominee to be named by his party will contest in the DMK’s ‘Rising Sun,’ symbol. In 2019, KMDK’s AKP Chinraj was elected from Namakkal in the DMK’s Rising Sun symbol.

Eswaran told reporters that Chinraj has already said that he will not be contesting again. The KMDK leader said his party will soon take a decision on the candidate to be fielded from Namakkal.

The DMK is expected to finalise seat sharing with other allies including the Congress, VCK and Left parties soon.

TR Baalu, Tiruchi Siva, K N Nehru were among the DMK leaders present during the signing of pacts for the LS polls.


Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: A caste census and poll strategies are set to dominate the Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting here on Monday, with Assembly elections...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


JAIPUR: Congress party will begin its election campaign for the upcoming assembly election in the state from October 16 with ”Kaam kiya dil se,...


NEW DELHI: A former bureaucrat has raised concern with the Election Commission on the nomination of ”at least” four persons allegedly having ”affiliation with...