Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


BJP’s Tejaswini Gowda resigns as MLC

BENGALURU: BJP’s Tejaswini Gowda resigned as Member of the Karnataka Legislative Council on Wednesday.

She submitted her resignation to Legislative Council Chairman Basavaraj Horatti.

According to party sources, Gowda, a former journalist, is upset over not being fielded as a candidate in the Lok Sabha elections.

She was said to be aspiring for the BJP ticket from Bengaluru North or Mysuru-Kodagu segments, they said.

There are reports that Gowda may quit BJP and rejoin Congress. However, she has not spoken about future course of action.

Gowda got elected from the BJP to the Council in 2018. She had joined the party in 2014 after quitting Congress, and had also been the spokesperson for the saffron party. Her tenure as MLC was to end in June 2024.

She was earlier a member of the 14th Lok Sabha (2004-2009) from Kanakapura Lok Sabha segment, which is now Bangalore Rural, from the Congress Party, defeating former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda of JD(S).

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


NEW DELHI: SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, RLD’s Anil Kumar and two BJP leaders were sworn in Tuesday as Yogi Adityanath expanded his council...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: The Congress Tuesday declared a list of 17 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, fielding Mohammad Jawed and Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s...