Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror
Hyderabad: Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi delivers Sardar Patel Memorial lecture at National Police Academy in Hyderabad on Aug 10, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

Rajya Sabha

2 TMC MPs submit privilege motion notice against ex-CJI, Ranjan Sabha member Ranjan Gogoi

NEW DELHI: Two TMC MPs on Monday submitted a notice to move privilege motion against former Chief Justice of India and Rajya Sabha member Ranjan Gogoi over his remarks about attending Parliament, sources said.

The notice from Trinamool Congress (TMC) members Jawhar Sircar and Mausam Noor is yet to be admitted by the Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

Besides them, several other MPs from various opposition parties are also expected to file notices of privilege motion against Gogoi, the sources said.

Sircar and Noor have filed the notice for privilege motion over Gogoi’s remarks about attending Parliament, they said.

In an interview to a news channel, Gogoi reportedly said in the wake of Covid curbs and lack of social distancing, he likes to attend Rajya Sabha when he feels like and when he thinks there are matters of importance on which he should speak, the sources said.

Gogoi also purportedly said he is a nominated member, and not governed by any party whip, the sources said citing his remarks.

MPs from the TMC are also expected to file a complaint against Gogoi with the Ethics Committee, they said.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court on Wednesday sought responses from the Centre and others on a petition seeking a direction to ensure investigation and...


NEW DELHI: The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Tuesday released its poll manifesto, promising an ‘Urban Employment Guarantee Act’ on the lines of MNREGA and...


LALITPUR: Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday attacked the Uttar Pradesh government, alleging that it left people to die and stopped them from...


NEW DELHI: Two days in the past, the Election Commission elevated the expenditure restrict from Rs 28 lakh to Rs 40 lakh in candidates in...


NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court on Wednesday appointed a five- member committee headed by former apex court judge Indu Malhotra to probe the security...