Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


SEC starts electoral roll revision process for VC election in TTAADC

AGARTALA: The State Election Commission (SEC) of Tripura has initiated the process to prepare the final electoral rolls for conducting elections to village committees (VCs) of Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

The VC elections are considered important as Assembly elections are due in the state next year. The elections were scheduled to take place by March 3, last year but could not be held due to the Covid pandemic.

The tribal council has 587 Village Committees which are similar to gram panchayats and 68 per cent of Tripura’s geographical area 10,491 square km falls under the autonomous district council.

In July, the High Court of Tripura, while hearing a Public Interest Litigation (PIL), asked the state election panel to complete the VC elections by the first week of November.

The draft publication of the electoral rolls will be published on September 16 while filing of claims and objections will be allowed from September 16 to 22, said a senior poll official on Tuesday.

The claims and objections will be disposed of by September 26 and final rolls are scheduled to be published on September 30 to pave the way for holding VC elections.

“The electoral rolls for the Village Committee constituencies shall be based on the photo electoral rolls of the State Assembly constituencies for the time being in force”, he said.

Tipra Motha, the ruling party in the tribal council has been seeking elections to Village Committees at the earliest.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


AHMEDABAD: A moderate voter turnout of 60.23 per cent was recorded in the first phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections covering 89 seats across...


SRINAGAR: PDP president Mehbooba Mufti on Saturday accused the BJP of subverting the Election Commission to an extent that it was no more an...


MUZAFFARNAGAR: Samajwadi Party (SP) ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) on Thursday won the Khatauli bypoll in Uttar Pradesh, with its candidate Madan Bhaiya defeating...


NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Friday finalised six names as its candidates for various MCD posts, including that of mayor and...