Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Arun Goel takes over as new Election Commissioner

NEW DELHI: Arun Goel today assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner (EC) of India. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, who is currently in Nepal as International Observer for their ongoing national elections, personally called and congratulated Shri Arun Goel on his appointment.

Welcoming him to the Election Commission, Kumar said that vast & diverse administrative experience of Shri Goel will further strengthen the Commission’s endeavours in ensuring the electoral process more inclusive, accessible and participative.

ARUN GOEL, IAS (Punjab Cadre – 1985 Batch)
Post Graduate in Development Economics from Churchill College, University of Cambridge, England with Distinction
M.Sc. Mathematics
Secretary, Ministry of Heavy Industries 2020 – 2022
(Catalyzed E-Vehicle movement in India to a Tipping Point)

Secretary, Ministry of Culture 2018 – 2019
AS&FA, Ministry of Labour & Employment 2017
Vice Chairman, Delhi Development Authority 2015 – 2016
Joint Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Department of Revenue 2012 – 2014
Joint Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development 2011
Principal Secretary (Power & Irrigation) 2010
Principal Secretary (Housing & Urban Development) 2007 – 2009
Secretary, Department of Expenditure 2006
Managing Director, Punjab Industries & Export 2003 – 2005

Managing Director, Punjab Warehousing Corporation 2001 – 2002
District Election Officer /Collector, Ludhiana 1995 – 2000
Managing Director, Chandigarh Industrial & Tourism 1994
Development Corporation

District Election Officer /Collector, Bhatinda 1993

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI:A man disguised as an advocate was allegedly caught by the police security detail of the main witness in the 1984 Anti Sikh...


BARAMULLA: India’s Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday ruled out holding dialogue with Pakistan and asserted that the Modi government will wipe out terrorism...


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Wednesday appealed to the country’s constitutional institutions, including the Election Commission of India, to conduct an inquiry into the...


NEW DELHI: AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi on Saturday evening declared his party’s candidates for three seats for the coming Assembly elections in Gujarat. Elections...


NEW DELHI: Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioner (EC) Anup Chandra Pandey today launched a yearlong Voter Awareness Program –...