Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror

Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha passes bill to deal with maritime piracy with voice vote

NEW DELHI: Parliament on Wednesday passed the Maritime Anti-Piracy Bill, which provides for stringent punishment to those convicted of such crimes.

The Rajya Sabha on Wednesday passed by voice vote the Maritime Anti-Piracy Bill-2022 which was moved for consideration and passage by External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar.

The bill was passed by the Lok Sabha on Monday.

In the bill, the government has added provisions for death penalty and life imprisonment for those convicted of maritime piracy.

Replying to a debate on the bill, Jaishankar said it will help the country in having international cooperation to deal with piracy.

He also told the House, “We will have jurisdiction on foreign ships (which would indulge in piracy).”

About the members’ suggestions about having standard operating procedures (SOP) for have better enforcement, he stated that the suggestion is well taken as it would help in its enforcement.

He appreciated the members’ views that authorised persons — armed forces dealing with piracy — need to be given immunity.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


NEW DELHI: Soon after the Women’s Reservation Bill was tabled by India’s Law Minister Arjun Meghwal in the Lok Sabha, Industrialist and Philanthropist Abhishek...


MUMBAI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will begin its Maha Jansampark Abhiyan, a month-long campaign, on Wednesday, during which it will reach out to...


BHUBANESWAR: Union Home Minister Amit Shah is scheduled to visit Odisha on June 17 and address a public meeting in Dhenkanal, a senior party...


NEW DELHI: NCP chief Sharad Pawar on Saturday declared his daughter Supriya Sule and former Union minister Praful Patel as working presidents of the...

2024 Lok Sabha Polls

GONDA: BJP MP and outgoing WFI chief Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, who is facing allegations of sexually harassing female wrestlers, on Sunday said he...