Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


NDPP-BJP alliance bags 37 constituencies, returns to power in Nagaland

NEW DELHI: The NDPP-BJP alliance bagged 37 seats in the 60-member Nagaland assembly, securing a straight second term in office in the northeastern state.

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the BJP emerged victorious in 25 and 12 constituencies respectively.

None of the other parties reached the double figure with the NCP and the National People’s Party (NPP), winning seven and five seats respectively.

While the LJP (Ram Vilas), RPI (Athawale) and the NPF equally share

d six constituencies, the JD(U) got one seat. Independent candidates bagged four seats.

The Congress failed to win any seat in the state and secured a vote share of 3.55 per cent.

In the 2018 election, the NDPP-BJP contested the assembly election with a seat-sharing formula of 40:20, which the two parties maintained this time too.

The NDPP led by Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio had won 18 seats while the BJP bagged 12.

While the NDPP secured a vote share of 32.22 per cent, the saffron party’s share of polled votes is 18.81 per cent.

Congratulations to all the winning candidates of the Nagaland Assembly Elections 2023. As we have assured the electorates, let us pursue with sincerity to fulfill our goals and vision. May God Almighty help us, Rio said in a Twitter post.

BJP president JP Nadda said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visionary leadership and Rio’s governance will ensure peace while reaching new heights of progress in the state once more, he said.

Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...