Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror


Ahead of polls, Bajrang Sena merges with Congress in Madhya Pradesh, vows to defeat BJP

BHOPAL: Hindutva outfit Bajrang Sena on Tuesday merged with Congress in Madhya Pradesh months ahead of the Assembly polls alleging the BJP had come to power in the state by cheating the people’s mandate and has deviated from the path.

Bajrang Sena (BS) leaders are close to former minister Deepak Joshi, who had quit BJP to join Congress.

The merger happened in the presence of MP Congress president Kamal Nath. The merger announcement was made by BS national president Rajnish Pateria and coordinator Raghunandan Sharma. Joshi was also present on the occasion.

BS members presented a mace and memorabilia to Nath and raised slogans of Jai Shriram.

Welcoming the development, Nath alleged chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is making hollow announcements as elections are approaching.

”Chouhan has made more than 20,000 announcements so far which are never implemented. As the assembly polls are nearing, Chouhan is now remembering women, youths and employees. He had done nothing for them in the last 18 years while in power,” Nath claimed.

He said the people have decided to end the rule of BJP this time ”which came to power by horse trading”, apparently referring to the toppling of the Nath-led government in March 2020.

Pateria said a large number of workers who have joined Congress will ensure the defeat of the BJP, ”which had come to power by cheating the people’s mandate”.

Bajrang Sena was founded in Chhatarpur in 2013. It used to agitate on religious and social issues.

In the 2018 Assembly polls, the Congress won 114 of 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh. The BJP finished second by winning 109 seats. The Congress formed a coalition government with the support of Independents BSP, and SP.


Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: The AAP has called a meeting of its Political Affairs Committee on Tuesday to discuss the party’s probable candidates for the upcoming...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


RANCHI: Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren on Friday allotted portfolios to ministers, keeping key departments like home and personnel, for himself in addition to...


LUCKNOW: Samajwadi Party (SP) has stepped up its electioneering ground work in Azamgarh as it eyes to wrest the Lok Sabha seat which it...