Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Political Mirror

States Assembly

Andhra Pradesh Speaker disqualifies 8 MLAs from assembly

AMARAVATI: Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker Tammineni Sitaram has disqualified eight sitting MLAs — four each from the ruling YSR Congress and the opposition Telugu Desam party — from their posts based on complaints from the respective parties, ahead of the elections.

The disqualified members are Maddalo Giridhar Rao, Karanam Balaram, Vallabhaneni Vamsi and Vasupalli Ganesh from TDP and Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Mekapati Chandrasekhar Reddy, K Sridhar Reddy and Undavalli Sridevi, a circular from the Speaker’s office said on Tuesday.

“The following members of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly were disqualified on 26.02. 2024 by the Hon’ble Speaker, Andhra Pradesh, Legislative Assembly under X Schedule of the Constitution of India and as per the Members of Andhra Pradesh Assembly (Disqualification on grounds of defection rules), 1986,” it said.

According to political analysts, the disqualification of the MLAs is unlikely to necessitate byelections as the assembly polls are expected to be held in a few weeks.

The Speaker had earlier issued notices to all the eight members to hear their version before disqualifying them.

Sridhar Reddy’s name figured in the list of TDP contesting candidates released by the party chief N Chandrababu Naidu recently.


Source: Press Trust of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


RAIPUR: Senior BJP leader and the tribal face of the party, Vishnu Deo Sai, on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh,...


NEW DELHI: A caste census and poll strategies are set to dominate the Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting here on Monday, with Assembly elections...


BHOPAL: Mohan Yadav, the BJP legislature party leader and MLA from Ujjain South, was sworn in as the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh here...


JAIPUR: Congress party will begin its election campaign for the upcoming assembly election in the state from October 16 with ”Kaam kiya dil se,...


NEW DELHI: A former bureaucrat has raised concern with the Election Commission on the nomination of ”at least” four persons allegedly having ”affiliation with...